2007 22LR Silencer Shootout

These tests were conducted on January 5, 2008 using 19 silencers from various manufacturers around the country.  Some of the best silencers in the world were measured in this test.  The test was fired using the Walther P22 pistol and a bolt action rifle manufactured in Russia call the Tula Toz 78.  (requires FREE signup, if you are not already a member)


The AAC Prodigy.  The AAC Prodigy is a unique silencer in that it's design is a single baffle stack/core.  This facilitates easy cleaning and easy quick inspection of the silencers internals.  I tested three firearms, including a pistol and two rifles.  I utilized CCI Subsonics, CCI Standard Velocity, CCI Minimags, Remington Golden Bullet 40 grain rounds and Remington Target/Standard velocity.  This Silencer has been upgraded as of January 1, 2009 and is improved considerably from these older tests.  See the new tests for comparisons HERE.
The Gemtech Outback II 22LR silencer.  This silencer belongs to a friend of mine.  We tested a Walther P22, a Browning Buckmark with a Tactical Innovations 4 inch threaded barrel, a Ruger 10/22 with an aftermarket Tactical Innovations threaded barrel, and a Ruger 10/22 with a match grade Clerke International 16 inch barrel that was threaded by a local gunsmith.  Most of the tests were conducted with a variety of CCI 22LR products and some Remington Subsonic rounds.  Click the picture.

YHM Mite Review

I performed an extensive review of the YHM Mite suppressor.  I compared the AAC Prodigy and the Gemtech Outback II.  During the testing I discovered several very interesting things that I will cover in this review.  Some additional testing occurred five days later.  The Mite is a 22LR suppressor that comes apart for cleaning and is full automatic rated.  Includes a cleaning video.

Tactical Innovations “TAC 67” silencer.  The silencer was tested across 2 platforms with 7 types of ammunition.  I tested a factory 10/22 with a aftermarket Tactical Innovations 16.5 inch 1 in 9 twist barrel threaded 1/2X28 TPI.  I also tested a factory Browning Buckmark pistol with an aftermarket Tactical Solutions 4 inch 1 in 16 twist barrel threaded 1/2X28 TPI.  The Tactical Innovations barrel is capable of stabilizing the Aguila 60 grain SSS round.  The Tactical Solutions barrel is aluminum with a stainless steel insert in the barrel.  Click the picture. 
22 silencers both wet and dryI tested water, UltraQuiet Gel (Ultrasound Gel), and CCF Suppressor coolant.  I tested the AAC Prodigy, the TAC 67, and the SRT Comanche using the Browning Buckmark pistol with the Tactical Solutions 4 inch threaded barrel.  The ammunition used for the test was CCI Subsonics. 
A shootout with three 22LR silencers.  For this shootout, I chose 3 unsealed 22 silencers.  I used the AAC Prodigy, the Tactical Innovations TAC 67 (no longer produced), and the SRT Comanche.  The test was to determine what silencer was best on 3 types of weapons.  I used CCI Subsonics for the pistol and rifle shootouts and for the M16 22 conversion, I used CCI Minimags.  All tests were completed on the same day within one hour, with the same weapons with ammunition from the same boxes. 

Beretta 92FS Tests

On September 20th 2007, I tested my Beretta 92FS with 3 silencers.  I have had much trouble getting my personal Beretta to function without a booster.  I polished all the contact surfaces well, used a 10lb Wolff recoil spring, oiled it well, and viola...it functions with a screw on mount can.  Click the picture to see the review


9MM Silencer Shootout

1.25 Outside Diameter Silencers

On September 20, 2007 I tested five 1.25OD silencers.  In my previous tests I tested two 1.25OD silencers and one 1.375OD silencer.  This is comparing apples to oranges to some degree, so I wanted to test the smaller silencers separately.  I tested the Gemtech Trinity, the AAC Evolution 9, the YHM Cobra, the SRT Arms Matrix GS, and the SWR Shadow 9. Click the picture to see the review


9MM Silencer Shootout

1.375 Outside Diameter Silencers

On September 20, 2007 I tested two 1.375OD silencers.  In my previous tests I tested two 1.25OD silencers and one 1.375OD silencer.  This is comparing apples to oranges to some degree, so I wanted to test the smaller silencers separately.  In this test the SWR Trident 9 goes up against the HTG Cycle 9.  I tested on a Glock 17 with a LWD match grade drop-in barrel and a Sig Sauer P226 Tactical with factory threaded barrel.  Click the picture to see the review.



The Gemtech Trinity is Gemtech's current production 9mm silencer.  It was designed as a multi-platform, lightweight modular silencer.  It can be fitted with up to five different weapon couplers, plus the 9mm Talon upper that can be fitted onto an M16.  Three screw-in mounts are available in 3 sizes, 1/2X28TPI, 1/2X36TPI, and the metric 13.5X1 left hand thread mount.  Read more...click the picture



The AAC Evolution 9 was designed to be fired on a pistol.  It was not designed as a multi-platform silencer (even though it does well in other applications).  The main design feature of the Evo 9 is the A.S.A.P system, which stands for Assured Semi Automatic Performance.  The A.S.A.P system is a booster system referred to as a "Neilsen Device" to enable the pistol to function properly.  When you add a silencer to a barrel, the extra weight can cause the action to fail to work.  Click the picture for more...



The SWR Trident 9 is a modular design silencer.  It can be used on multiple platforms with the use of various coupling devices.  SWR's "Neilsen Device" is called the L.C.D.  The L.C.D comes apart using the supplied tool so the end user can install either a 1/2X28 piston shaft, or a M13.5X1 piston shaft.  The L.C.D actually has its own porting system built into it and the piston shafts are themselves ported.  This allows the L.C.D to begin the gas trapping process.  Click the picture for more...


9MM Barrel Lengths

I performed a very brief test to see what barrel length has to do with sound pressure levels and velocity.  The test was performed with a two 9mm Colt 635 style submachine gun uppers for the M16 platform.  A upper with a 5 inch barrel (know as the Gemtech Talon upper) and a 9" barreled upper.  The silencer used for the test was the SWR Trident 9.  Click the pictures for more info...


  3 Lug Adapter and other Mounts Tested

Three lug adapter tests on the Colt 635 style submachine gun upper are available.  Includes the three lug system and the thread on mounts.  The SWR Trident, the AAC Evolution 9 and the Gemtech Trinity are included.  The Evolution 9 seems to make a much better 9mm submachine gun can that it does a pistol silencer.  The Evo 9 Triad is tested.  Click the Picture.

9MM Integral Shootout

On October 21, 2007 I tested three integrally suppressed 9mm upper halves for the AR15/M16 platform.  The uppers tested were the LRM M169 (no longer currently produced by the manufacturer), a custom built Norrell DEA upper and the SRT Arms integral upper.  The LRM and the Norrell utilize short 9mm barrels and can only be fired on registered short barreled rifles, or registered M16 machineguns.  The SRT Arms Integral can be used on any regular AR15 platform.


On October 20th, 2007 I tested the SRT Arms Matrix M9.  The Matrix M9 was specifically designed to be fired on the Beretta M9/92/92FS/90-Two series of pistols.  There is no booster used with this silencer since it is lightweight and is not mounted on a browning-type action pistol.  The Beretta that I tested was the Beretta 92FS.  The SRT Matrix M9 weighs a mere 5.7 ounces, is 6.375 inches long and is a 1.25 outside diameter silencer. Click the Picture to read the review.

John Norrell Arms 9mm Upper

The Norrell DEA is a custom job by John Norrell (manufacturer of the world famous full automatic 10/22 closed bolt conversions).  This particular upper is not the typical 9mm system he produces, but rather is was built using modern YHM handguards on a 10.5 inch 9mm upper.  This system can also be disassembled and cleaned by the end user. Click the picture to read the review


SWR Shadow 9

On October 20, 2007 I tested the SWR Shadow 9.  The Shadow 9 is the 1.25 inch outside diameter silencer from SWR Manufacturing.  It features a integrated booster system that allows the user to change pistons to accommodate the 1/2X28TPI threaded pistols as well as the 13.5X1MM metric right hand threaded pistols such as the Sig P226 Tactical and the H&K USP 9SD.  Click the picture to see the review

Yankee Hills Machine Cobra 9MM

I tested the YHM Cobra 9mm silencer on October 20, 2007.  The Cobra is the boostered 9mm silencer from Yankee Hills Machine Company.  It utilizes Mark White's patented slant baffle system and has it's own user adjustable booster system. Click the picture to see the review


On October 20th, 2007 I tested the SRT Arms Matrix GS.  The Matrix GS is the boostered version of the Matrix M9.  The Matrix GS is designed to operate on pistols such as the Sig P226, Glocks, H&K USP 9SD and other Browning-type action pistols. Click the picture to read the review

HTG Cycle 9

I reviewed the HTG Cycle 9 suppressor from High Tech Gunworks  on October 20, 2007.  The Cycle 9 is a 1.375 Outside Diameter silencer that weighs 11.2 ounces and is 7.75 inches long overall.  It comes with a stainless blast baffle and utilizes patent pending Epsilon baffles.  Click the picture